447 Saint-François-Xavier
Old Montreal
514.844.4368

Open every evening
5 to 10:30 p.m.

CLASSIC FRENCH CUISINE
IN OLD MONTREAL

At Restaurant Bonaparte, every moment is meant to be savored. Exquisite dishes such as house-smoked salmon with truffle oil, maple duck breast and sage-scented mushroom ravioli reveal all the splendor and finesse of French cuisine.

Discover an inspiring wine list, warm service, and sumptuous décor within the romantic ambiance of Old Montreal. At Restaurant Bonaparte, every evening becomes a memorable culinary journey, sharing the very essence of the gastronomic experience.

447 Saint-François-Xavier
Old Montreal
514.844.4368

Open every evening
5:30 pm to 10:30 pm

CLASSIC FRENCH CUISINE
IN OLD MONTREAL

At Restaurant Bonaparte, every moment is meant to be savored. Exquisite dishes such as house-smoked salmon with truffle oil, maple duck breast and sage-scented mushroom ravioli reveal all the splendor and finesse of French cuisine.

Discover an inspiring wine list, warm service, and sumptuous décor within the romantic ambiance of Old Montreal. At Restaurant Bonaparte, every evening becomes a memorable culinary journey, sharing the very essence of the gastronomic experience.

Spaces

GROUP EVENTS

We welcome groups with a special menu and personalized service, ensuring a friendly dining experience that meets your best expectations.

GROUPS OF 12 TO 20 PEOPLE

To reserve please send an email to [email protected], we will reply shortly.

SIGNATURE COCKTAILS & MOCKTAILS

WINE LIST

Explore an enchanting wine list, offering a vast selection of vintages from around the globe, with a preeminence of French wines.

Your waiter will be pleased to recommend a wine inspired by your preferences to enhance your meal and offer an exceptional pairing.

"Wine inspires and contributes

greatly to the joy of living."

- Napoleon Bonaparte

THE BONAPARTE STORY

FROM PARISIAN DREAMS TO A MONTREAL TABLE

In the early 1980s, Louis Ladouceur split his time between his native Montreal and Paris. A regular in Parisian restaurants, he crossed paths with chef Claude Postel, who had aspirations of living in Quebec. A year later, in 1984, Louis opens Restaurant Bonaparte.

Back in the eighties, Old Montreal lacked the allure it boasts today...

The historic neighbourhood was neglected and scarcely frequented by tourists. Louis recognized its potential and found a location, which remains the same to this day, trusting the nearby Centaur Theatre would draw patrons. The initial years proved challenging, but Postel's sumptuous French cuisine (his famous lime pie remains unchanged) and Louis' entrepreneurial flair continued to attract a loyal clientele.

It was in the 90s that the Bonaparte found its essence. Louis purchases the building, expands the dining room and completely strips the five-floor interior to build the hotel.
At the tender age of 19, Martin Bédard arrives on the Bonaparte scene. A few years later, after working in other renowned restaurants, he returns and is promoted to director. He continues to shape the warm and impeccable dining experience the Bonaparte offers today. 
In the kitchen, Gérard Fort is appointed head chef. Dedicated to customer satisfaction, he actively solicits guests' opinions and refines recipes to achieve a harmonious menu. Two decades later, the menu remains largely unchanged, and Kamal Abdul, our chef since 2019, maintains classic and consistent French cuisine in all its splendor, where everything is made in-house with the utmost attention to detail.

Over the years, Le Bonaparte has served famous personalities such as Charles Aznavour, Leonard Cohen, Madonna and Wayne Gretzky. But above all, many customers return over the decades, to celebrate birthdays, first dates, or even travel long distances to enjoy our famous mushroom ravioli once again.

In 2015 Epik Collection presents itself, a young hotel company with an interest in adding the Bonaparte to its portfolio. Louis had no intention of selling, but the offer is based on collaboration and respect for the Bonaparte's heritage. The partnership is a win-win situation, with Louis remaining at the helm of the restaurant and among the owners.

In 2024, we celebrate 40 years of history. Always true to our origins, our ability to modernize through the decades is our secret sauce. At the Bonaparte, in addition to delicious food, you'll find sumptuous décor, an exquisite wine and cocktail list, superb service, a lively atmosphere and palpable energy. A work that continues to be shaped with you for over forty years. 

Read more Close

PHOTO GALLERY

EXTRA EXTRa

We'd love to share news and announce special menus and evenings. Subscribe to our newsletter. We promise, the frequency will be civilized.

RESTAURANT
BONAPARTE

447 St-François-Xavier
Montréal, QC, CAN

514-844-4368

Open 7 days a week
5:30 pm to 10:30 pm

447 Saint-François-Xavier
Vieux-Montréal
514.844.4368

Ouvert tous les soirs
17h00 à 22h30

CUISINE FRANÇAISE CLASSIQUE DANS LE VIEUX-MONTRÉAL

Prendre le temps de savourer chaque moment, voilà l’expérience du Restaurant Bonaparte. Les plats exquis, tels que le saumon fumé maison à l’huile de truffes, le magret de canard à l’érable ou les raviolis de champignons parfumés à la sauge, révèlent toute la splendeur et la finesse de la cuisine française.

Découvrez une carte des vins inspirante, un service chaleureux et un décor somptueux dans l’ambiance romantique du Vieux-Montréal. Au Restaurant Bonaparte, chaque soirée se transforme en un voyage gustatif mémorable, dévoilant l’essence même de l’expérience gastronomique.

447 Saint-François-Xavier
Vieux-Montréal
514.844.4368

Ouvert tous les soirs
17h30 à 22h30

CUISINE FRANÇAISE CLASSIQUE DANS LE VIEUX-MONTRÉAL

Prendre le temps de savourer chaque moment, voilà l’expérience du Restaurant Bonaparte. Les plats exquis, tels que le saumon fumé maison à l’huile de truffes, le magret de canard à l’érable ou les raviolis de champignons parfumés à la sauge, révèlent toute la splendeur et la finesse de la cuisine française.

Découvrez une carte des vins inspirante, un service chaleureux et un décor somptueux dans l’ambiance romantique du Vieux-Montréal. Au Restaurant Bonaparte, chaque soirée se transforme en un voyage gustatif mémorable, dévoilant l’essence même de l’expérience gastronomique.

Espaces

ÉVÉNEMENTS DE GROUPES

Nous accueillons les groupes avec un menu spécial et un service personnalisé, garantissant une expérience culinaire conviviale et à la hauteur de vos attentes.

GROUPE DE 12 à 20 PERSONNES

Pour réserver, SVP envoyer un courriel à [email protected]. Nous vous répondrons dans les plus brefs délais.

COCKTAILS ET MOCKTAILS SIGNATURES

CARTE DE VINS

Explorez une savoureuse carte de vins, proposant une vaste sélection de crus issus des quatre coins du monde, avec une prééminence de vins français.

Votre serveur se fera un plaisir de vous conseiller un vin inspiré de vos préférences pour rehausser votre repas et offrir un marriage gustatif exceptionnel.

«Le vin inspire et contribue

énormément à la joie de vivre.»

– Napoléon Bonaparte

L'HISTOIRE DU BONAPARTE

DE RÊVES PARISIENS À UNE TABLE MONTRÉALAISE

Au début des années 1980, Louis Ladouceur partageait son temps entre sa ville natale de Montréal et Paris. Habitué des restaurants parisiens, il croise le chemin du chef Claude Postel, qui nourrit des aspirations de vivre au Québec. Un an plus tard, en 1984, Louis ouvre le Restaurant Bonaparte.

À cette époque, le Vieux-Montréal n’était pas le quartier attrayant que nous connaissons aujourd’hui…

Le quartier était négligé et rarement fréquenté par les touristes. Louis y reconnaît le potentiel et trouve un emplacement misant sur la proximité du théâtre Centaur. Les premières années ont été difficiles, mais la cuisine savoureuse de Postel (sa célèbre tarte à la lime demeure inchangée) et le flair entrepreneurial de Louis ont continué d’attirer une clientèle fidèle.

C’est dans les années 90 que le Bonaparte trouve son essence. Louis achète le bâtiment, agrandit la salle à manger et rénove entièrement l’intérieur de cinq étages pour y construire l’hôtel.
À l’âge tendre de 19 ans, Martin Bédard fait son entrée de scène au Bonaparte. Quelques années plus tard, après avoir travaillé dans d’autres restaurants de renom, il revient au Bonaparte et deviendra directeur. Il continue de façonner l’expérience chaleureuse et impeccable que le Bonaparte offre aujourd’hui. 
En cuisine, Gérard Fort est nommé chef. Dédié à la satisfaction de la clientèle, il sollicite activement les avis des convives et affine les recettes pour atteindre un menu harmonieux. Deux décennies plus tard, le menu reste largement inchangé, et Kamal Abdul, notre chef depuis 2019, maintient la cuisine française classique et constante dans toute sa splendeur, où tout est fabriqué sur place avec les plus grands soins.

Au fil des ans, le Bonaparte a servi des personnalités renommées telles que Charles Aznavour, Leonard Cohen, Madonna et Wayne Gretzky. Mais surtout, de nombreux clients reviennent au fil des décennies, pour célébrer des anniversaires, des premiers rendez-vous, ou même parcourir de longues distances afin de déguster à nouveau nos fameux raviolis aux champignons.

En 2015 Épik Collection se présente, une jeune compagnie hôtelière avec l’intérêt d’ajouter le Bonaparte à son portfolio. Louis n’avait aucune intention de vendre, mais l’offre présentée repose sur la collaboration et le respect de l’héritage du Bonaparte. Le partenariat s’avère bénéfique pour tous, avec Louis qui demeure à la barre du restaurant et parmi les propriétaires.

En 2024, nous célébrons 40 ans d’histoire. Toujours fidèles à nos origines, notre capacité à nous moderniser à travers les décennies est notre sauce secrète. Au Bonaparte, en plus de délicieux plats, vous trouverez un décor somptueux, une carte de vins et de cocktails recherchés, un service magnifique, une ambiance vivante et une énergie palpable. Une œuvre qui continue d’être façonnée avec vous depuis plus de quarante ans. 

Lire plus Fermer

GALERIE PHOTOS

EXTRA EXTRa

Nous aimerions vous partager des nouvelles et vous annoncer la venue de menus ou soirées spéciales. Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre. Promis, la fréquence sera civilisée.

RESTAURANT
BONAPARTE

447 St-François-Xavier
Montréal, QC, CAN

514-844-4368

Ouvert 7 jours
17h30 à 22h30